Doggone Thunderstorms

This is a photograph of my current situation, vis-à-vis my feet.  What appears to be a fluffy uni-slipper is actually our dog, and he is doing what he always does during thunderstorms these days, which is hang out—not exactly UNDER foot, but somewhere in the vicinity of my feet.

It has not always been like this, but I can’t pinpoint when the change happened.  We got him when he was seven months old, and even though our older dog, Sinjin, was currently in residence and always a complete idiot during storms, the Wowpup was oblivious.  Even after Sinjin went to his long home, the Wowpup continued happily unaffected by storms.

This is no longer the case.

Last spring, when the tornado struck, I was, along with my Beloved and a bunch of other people, standing in our dining room going “Wow, is this a tornado?”  This kind of behavior could be a form of natural selection, but since we’ve already reproduced, it’s too late for the gene pool.

The Wowpup had positioned himself in the door to the den and was keening, whining, and otherwise trying to tell us, “Yes, you morons, it IS a tornado, and let’s all go get in a closet, shall we?”

He repeated this with increasing urgency until he finally gave up and went to the closet by himself.  Had we been splattered all over Northwood, he alone would have survived to tell the tale.   We found him, by candlelight several hours later, under a rack of my Beloved’s suits.  Only his nose was showing.

Now, whenever thunder rumbles in the distance, he wants to come lie on my feet.  If my feet are somewhere inconvenient, like under my desk, he will lie on them anyway, resulting in a certain amount of cramping and upheaval.  This afternoon, he is wedged between my feet and a footstool.  I’m supposed to be meeting some people for dinner soon, and I worry that I will not be able to pry him off me.

I wonder if restaurants will allow you to bring your dog in if he is serving as a pair of shoes, or, more accurately, a single big shoe?  It will not be a fashion statement, but by golly, your feet will stay warm all evening, or at least until the storm passes.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lindsey Green on April 24, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Have you considered buying a thunder shirt for Wowbagger? Percy’s works like a charm. XXOO LG

    Reply

Leave a Reply

